Saint Teresa of Avila

by Linda Douty
explorefaith.org

I never expected a sixteenth century saint to enter my twentieth century spiritual journey. After all, my United Methodist background contained no exposure to historical Catholic figures like St. Teresa of Avila. Yet it seemed that every time I turned around, there she was again, with an unexpected word to expand my idea of God or chart the next step of spiritual growth for me.

One of my mentors pointed out that St. Teresa seemed to “expose my spiritual growing edge.? I suppose she spoke a timeless sacred language that had a way of jolting me into the growing awareness that God and I were not separate. Though I had been brought up to say my prayers to God, the Divine Other…to “lift up? my prayers, as if to some far off heavenly realm, St. Teresa spoke of God in ways that exploded those concepts. >>More

Please continue reading this at explorefaith.org
Leave a Reply

