Seeking, Asking and Knocking

Steps to the Higher self
by JoyBeth / Author, Counselor and Spiritual Healer

“Seek and you will find.
Ask and you will receive.
Knock and the door will be opened.”

I heard these three sentences a lot when I was a child. In my child’s mind, “Seek and you will find” worked fairly well when I had to find something I’d lost. “Ask and you will receive” didn’t tend to work, especially if I asked for something expensive. “Knock and the door will be opened” didn’t make much sense to me, but I kept trying it anyway. Sometimes the doors would open and sometimes not, but even if the door did open and a person appeared, I didn’t know what was suppose to happen next.

As I grew older and began earnestly trying to figure out what life was really about, these three sentences fascinated me. Somewhere deep inside, I felt that they had a ring of truth about them. So, I began experimenting with SEEKING, ASKING AND KNOCKING. I found out that the process of seeking, asking, and knocking required several things from me. I had to have at least an idea about what I wanted and the clearer I was about what I wanted the more likely it was to become real.

Another thing I learned was that in seeking, asking and knocking, DOING became real important in achieving the results. I couldn’t just scream out my wants to the Universe and then become a couch potato. I had to pick up and follow through on the clues given me about how to manifest my desire. In addition, I discovered that the more selfish my need was the harder I had to work to make it come true. If I used anger or resentment in order to motivate me, I’d often end up in the middle of a frustrating mess. If I sought, asked and knocked out of love for others and myself, then the results would often come quicker and better than I had originally thought they might. I also grew to understand that I had better be ready to accept the results and all the changes that naturally come. When I’d seek, ask and knock from desires that were just passing or not thoroughly thought through, I’d be unprepared to integrate the results into my life. >>More

http://www.byregion.net/articles-healers/Seeking_Asking_Knocking.html 

Leave a Reply

